COT/COM/COC Annual Report 2021

2021 Membership of the Committee on Carcinogenicity of Chemicals in Food, Consumer Products and the Environment

Last updated: 17 November 2022


Professor David Harrison MD DSc FRCPath FRCPEd FRCSEd

Professor of Pathology, University of St Andrews.


Mr Derek Bodey MA

Public Interest Representative.

Dr Gill Clare BSc PhD

Independent Consultant in Genetic Toxicology.

Dr Meera Cush

Managing Consultant (Toxicologist), Ramboll.

Dr Ruth Dempsey

Consultant: RD Science Speaks Consultancy, Sàrl.

Dr John Doe PhD

Research Fellow, Liverpool John Moore’s University.

Dr Richard Haworth MA VetMB DPhil FRCPath DipECVP DABT

Head of Pathology UK, GlaxoSmithKline.


Public Interest Representative.

Dr David Lovell PhD BSc (Hons) FRSB CStat CBiol (until 30th April 2021).

Emeritus Reader in Medical Statistics at St George’s Medical School, University of London.

Professor Gareth Jenkins (from 1st May 2021).

Professor of Molecular Carcinogenesis, Faculty of Health, Medicine and Life Science, Swansea University.

Professor Neil Pearce BSc DipSci DipORS PhD DSc FRSNZ FMedSci FFPH

Professor of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine.

Dr Lesley Rushton OBE BA MSc PhD CStat HonFFOM

Emeritus Reader in Occupational Epidemiology, Imperial College London.

Dr Lesley Stanley

Consultant in Investigative Toxicology.

Professor Heather Wallace BSc(Hons) PhD FRCPath FBTS FRSC FRSB FBPS ERT

Professor in Biochemical Pharmacology and Toxicology, University of Aberdeen.


Miss B Gadeberg BSc(Hons) MSc      

PHE Scientific Secretary to 30 Sept 2021.  UKHSA Scientific Secretary from 1st October 2021.

Ms Catherine Mulholland BSc (Hons), ERT  

Scientific Secretary

Dr D Gott BSc(Hons) PhD                            

  FSA Scientific Secretary

Mrs N Blowfield                                             

Administrative Secretary