Joint Expert Group on Additives, Enzymes and other Regulated Products - AEJEG

Last updated: 21 August 2023


The Joint Expert Group on Additives, Enzymes and other regulated products assesses and provides advice to the FSA or other Government Departments on applications for the authorisation of new food additives or ingredients (including colours, preservatives, flavourings), enzymes and processing aids and on other topics relevant to the assessment of such applications as requested. The group coordinates with and considers the opinions of other relevant bodies concerned with the assessment of food additives and provides advice on general principals or new scientific discoveries in connection with the authorisation of food additives.

In 2023 the Additives, Enzymes and other Regulated Products Joint Expert Group is changing the acronym used to AEJEG. In the past it has been referred to as AERJEG.


Dr Allain Bueno (2019 - Present) - Chair

Dr Allain Bueno is a Principal Lecturer in Human Physiology and Human Nutrition at the University of Worcester, and his main areas of teaching include cardiovascular physiology, neuroendocrine physiology and neurophysiology. Dr Bueno’s current research focuses on the impact of nutrients on human health, with particular attention to essential fatty acids and plant polyphenolic compounds as modulators of oxidative stress, cell membrane composition, brain metabolism and function. Dr Bueno graduated from Paulista School of Medicine, Sao Paulo Federal University. He holds an MPhil and a PhD in Human Nutrition Sciences, and extensive postdoctoral experience in diseases known to influence the central nervous system. He is a Registered Nutritionist with the UK Association for Nutrition.

Dr Allain Bueno was appointed interim chair of the Additives, Enzymes and other Regulated Products Joint Expert Group with effect from 1 January 2023 for 6 months. 

In June 2023, Dr Bueno was made permanent chair of the Additives, Enzymes and other Regulated Products Joint Expert Group.

Dr Claude Lambré (2019 - Present)

Claude is honorary director of research at the French Institute for Health and Medical Research. He has a background in biology, biochemistry and ecology with a specialization in immunology, microbiology, and toxicology. He has extensive experience acting as an expert to EFSA Scientific Panels, JECFA, and JMPR. He was vice-chair of the EFSA Panel on food additives and nutrient sources until July 2018 and is now the Chair of the EFSA Panel on Food Contact Materials, Food Enzymes and Processing Aids.

Dr Martin Rose (2019 - Present)

Martin is an Honorary Senior Lecturer at the University of Manchester. He is a former member of a number of EFSA panels and working groups. Until recently he worked for Fera as Science lead for the environmental contaminants in food. He is now acting as an independent scientist and provides consultancy work to mainly public sector bodies including the FAO / United Nations.  His expertise is in food chemical safety and analytical chemistry. 

Dr Olwenn Martin (2019 - Present)

Building on an academic interdisciplinary background in Natural Sciences and Social Sciences, Olwenn has developed expertise in the translation and application of both fundamental and observational research into policy. Specifically, she has over 15 years’ experience researching endocrine disruption policy and regulation and the effects of mixtures of chemicals. She has recently been appointed as a lecturer in Global Challenges.

Professor Qasim Chaudhry (2019 - Present)

Qasim is a visiting Professor at the University of Chester. His academic background is in chemistry and biochemical toxicology, with expertise in leading research into health and environmental safety of food and non-food consumer products. His scientific career spans over 35 years, including 25 years at the UK’s Food and Environment Research Agency (Fera).
As an independent scientific Expert, he provides advice to the European Commission's Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety (SCCS) for risk assessment of chemicals and nanomaterials in cosmetics; and various working groups of the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA).

Dr Claire Stephenson (2023 – Present)

Claire is a senior residues and dietary exposure expert in the agrochemical industry where she specialises in pesticide metabolism, residues in food and dietary risk assessment. Prior to this she has worked in consultancy and for the UK regulatory authority responsible for the regulation of pesticides, where she was the team lead responsible for MRLs (maximum residue levels of pesticides in food). She was previously the dietary exposure Member of the UK Expert Committee on Pesticides (ECP) and has represented the UK as a technical expert at a range of EC and EFSA meetings. Claire holds a PhD in biochemistry.


AEJEG Meetings

Working Groups

Smoke Flavourings Working Group (SFWG)