COT/COM/COC Annual Report 2021

2021 Membership of the Committee on Mutagenicity of Chemicals in Food, Consumer Products and the Environment

Last updated: 17 November 2022


Dr David Lovell PhD BSc (Hons) FRSB CStat CBiol (until 30/04/2021).

Emeritus Reader in Medical Statistics at St George’s Medical School, University of London.

Professor Gareth Jenkins (from 01/05/2021).

Professor of Molecular Carcinogenesis, Faculty of Health, Medicine and Life Science, Swansea University.


Dr Carol Beevers

Broughton Nicotine Services.

Mr Amit Bhagwat

Lay Member.

Dr Stephen Dean (until 31/12/2021).

Imagen Therapeutics.

Professor Shareen Doak

Institute of Life Science, Swansea University Medical School.

Dr Paul Fowler

FSTox Consulting.

Professor David Harrison MD DSc FRCPath FRCPEd FRCSEd

Professor of Pathology, University of St Andrews.

Dr George Johnson

Associate Professor, Swansea University Medical School.

Ms Julia Kenny


Dr Ruth Morse (until 31/08/2021).

Senior Lecturer in Human & Clinical Genetics, University of the West of England, Bristol.

Dr Andrew Povey

Reader in Molecular Epidemiology, University of Manchester.

Mrs Madeleine Wang

Lay Member.


Dr Ovnair Sepai   

PHE Scientific Secretary

Ms C Mulholland   

FSA Scientific Secretary

Mrs N Blowfield   

Administrative Secretary