Working Group

Smoke Flavourings Working Group (SFWG)

The Smoke Flavourings Working Group (SFWG) is a subgroup of the Joint Expert Group on Additives, Enzymes and other regulated products (AEJEG).

Last updated: 08 March 2024


The Smoke Flavourings Working Group (SFWG) is a subgroup of the Joint Expert Group on Additives, Enzymes and other regulated products (AEJEG) established to review the applications for the renewal of smoke flavourings products. The SFWG consists of the members of the AEJEG and 5 additional members with expertise in exposure assessment, analytical chemistry and genetic toxicology.


All AEJEG members are members of this working group. Please see below, the additional expert members:

Dr David Lovell (2023 – Present)

David is Emeritus Reader in Medical Statistics at St George’s Medical School, University of London. He was Chair of the UK Government’s Advisory Committees on Mutagenicity of Chemicals in Food, Consumer Products and the Environment (COM).  He is a member of both the Committee on Carcinogenicity (COC) and Toxicity (COT) and a member of the Board of the National Centre for the Replacement, Refinement and Reduction of Animals in Research (NC3Rs).

Dr Gill Clare (2023 – Present)

Gill is currently an independent consultant and has over 30 years of experience in genetic toxicology, working across the university, health and private sectors. She specialises in the identification and characterisation of genotoxic hazards of substances to human health and has experience is performing risk assessment for substances, including those found in food. She is a member of COC, and has served on COM, VRC and HSAC (formerly ACHS).

Gill is currently a member of the FSA Food Contact Material Joint Expert Group (FCMJEG), alongside the Register of Specialists, the HSE REACH Independent Scientific Expert Pool (RISEP) and the BEIS OPPS Scientific Advisory Group. She is also a PPI Representative for the NIHR academic selection committees.

Dr Michael Walker (2023 – Present)

Michael is an honorary professor in the Institute for Global Food Security in Queen’s University, Belfast and runs his own chemico-legal consultancy. He retired as Head of the Office of the Government Chemist at LGC at the end of March 2021. He is a member of three other advisory groups, the FSA Food Contact Material Joint Expert Group (FCMJEG), the ILSI-Europe quantitative allergen risk assessment expert group, the Office of Product Safety and Standards Consumer Safety Expert Advisory Committee, and contributes to several IFST committees.   He was a board member for the Food Standards Agency between 2000-2004. Further information is openly available on Michael’s ORCID ID* 

Dr Ruth Morse (2023 – Present)

Ruth is a Senior Lecturer in Biomedical Sciences and is the subject group lead for Human and Medical Genetics at the University of the West of England, Bristol. Her research focusses on the long-term complications of chemotherapy to the bone marrow microenvironment, and her research team have developed multicellular and 3D models of the human bone marrow to better understand these issues. Thus, her main areas of teaching are genetic toxicology, inherited and acquired genetic disorders and oncology. Ruth graduated from Swansea University with a PhD in Genetic Toxicology and has gained valuable training and experience through postdoctoral positions in University of Bristol and the Institute of Occupational Health, Helsinki, Finland. She has acted as an expert advisor for the Committee for Mutagenicity and The Public and Community Oversight Group for the PHE and MRC.

Dr Adam Thomas (2023 – Present)

Adam is a senior lecturer in Human Genetics and Genomics at UWE, Bristol. His research focuses on the cellular response to genotoxic insult and more recently, the role of microRNAs in guiding the appropriate DNA damage response. Adam's experience in genetic toxicology spans academia and industry, starting with a position in Covance examining the frequency of false positives in in vitro testing. Following this, Adam undertook a PhD in the in vitro genotoxicology group at Swansea University, headed by Professors Gareth Jenkins, Shareen Doak and George Johnson; examining the mechanistic basis for genotoxic thresholds. His experience in genotoxic mechanisms and subsequent cellular responses was furthered through a postodcotral position at the Institut fuer Toxikologie in Mainz, Germany, under the guidance of Professor Bernd Kaina.