Smoke Flavourings Working Group (SFWG)

About

The Smoke Flavourings Working Group (SFWG) is a subgroup of the Joint Expert Group on Additives, Enzymes and other regulated products (AEJEG) established to review the applications for the renewal of smoke flavourings products.

Members

The SFWG consists of the members of the AEJEG with the exception of Claude Lambré who resigned from the SFWG in November 2024 and 3 additional members with expertise in exposure assessment, analytical chemistry and genetic toxicology.

Dr David Lovell (2023 - Present)

David is Emeritus Reader in Medical Statistics at City St George's, University of London. He was Chair of the UK Government's Advisory Committees on Mutagenicity of Chemicals in Food, Consumer Products and the Environment (COM). He is a member of both the Committee on Carcinogenicity (COC) and Toxicity (COT) and a member of the Board of the National Centre for the Replacement, Refinement and Reduction of Animals in Research (NC3Rs).

Dr Gill Clare (2023 - Present)

Gill is currently an independent consultant and has over 30 years of experience in genetic toxicology, working across the university, health and private sectors. She specialises in the identification and characterisation of genotoxic hazards of substances to human health and has experience is performing risk assessment for substances, including those found in food. She is a member of COC, and has served on COM, VRC and HSAC (formerly ACHS).

Gill is currently a member of the FSA Food Contact Material Joint Expert Group (FCMJEG), alongside the Register of Specialists, the HSE REACH Independent Scientific Expert Pool (RISEP) and the BEIS OPPS Scientific Advisory Group. She is also a PPI Representative for the NIHR academic selection committees.

Dr Michael Walker (2023 - Present)

Michael is an honorary professor in the Institute for Global Food Security in Queen's University, Belfast and runs his own chemico-legal consultancy. He retired as Head of the Office of the Government Chemist at LGC at the end of March 2021. He is a member of three other advisory groups, the FSA Food Contact Material Joint Expert Group (FCMJEG), the ILSI-Europe quantitative allergen risk assessment expert group, the Office of Product Safety and Standards Consumer Safety Expert Advisory Committee, and contributes to several IFST committees. He was a board member for the Food Standards Agency between 2000-2004. Further information is openly available on Michael's ORCID ID* https://orcid.org/0000-0002-4350-5549/print

Meetings

2023

2024

2025