# 2021 Membership of the Committee on Toxicity of Chemicals in Food, Consumer Products and the Environment

# In this guide

#### In this guide

- 1. About the Committees
- 2. Committee on the Toxicity of Chemicals in Food, Consumer Products and the Environment -Preface 2021
- 3. COT Evaluations 2021
- 4. Updated COT Evaluations 2021
- 5. Committee Procedures
- 6. COT Ongoing Work 2021
- 7. COT Working Groups 2021
- 8. 2021 Membership of the Committee on Toxicity of Chemicals in Food, Consumer Products and the Environment
- 9. Declaration of COT members interests during the period of this report- 2021
- 10. <u>Committee on Mutagenicity of Chemicals in Food, Consumer Products and</u> the Environment-Preface 2021
- 11. COM Ongoing Work 2021
- 12. COM Evaluations 2021
- 13. COM Horizon Scanning 2021
- 14. 2021 Membership of the Committee on Mutagenicity of Chemicals in Food, Consumer Products and the Environment
- 15. Declaration of COM members interests during the period of this report 2021
- 16. <u>Committee on the Carcinogenicity of Chemicals in Food, Consumer Products</u> and the Environment Preface 2021
- 17. COC Evaluations 2021
- 18. COC Joint Ongoing Topics 2021
- 19. COC Horizon Scanning 2021

- 20. COC Working Groups 2021
- 21. COC Guidance Statements 2021
- 22. <u>2021 Membership of the Committee on Carcinogenicity of Chemicals in Food,</u> <u>Consumer Products and the Environment</u>
- 23. Declaration of COC members interests during the period of this report 2021
- 24. Annex 1 Terms of Reference
- 25. Annex 2 Code of Conduct for members of the COC/COM/COT
- 26. Annex 3 Openness
- 27. Annex 4 Good Practice Agreement for Scientific Advisory Committees
- 28. Annex 5 Glossary of Terms
- 29. Annex 7 Previous Publications

# **Chairman:**

#### Professor Alan Boobis OBE, PhD, FBTS, FBPhS

Emeritus Professor of Toxicology in the Faculty of Medicine at Imperial College London.

### **Members:**

#### Dr Phil Botham BSc, PhD

Principal Science Advisor at Syngenta (part time).

#### **Ms Jane Case**

Lay Member.

#### **Dr Stella Cochrane BSc PhD**

Science Leader for Allergy and Immunology in Unilever's Safety and Environmental Assurance Centre.

# Dr James Coulson BSc MBBCh Dip Med Tox Dip Therapeutics LLM MD FRCP FRCPE ERT

Clinical Reader at Cardiff University, Honorary Professor in Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology, Cardiff Metropolitan University, Honorary Consultant Physician, Clinical Pharmacologist and Toxicologist, Cardiff & Vale University Health Board.

#### **Dr René Crevel**

Director, René Crevel Consulting Limited.

#### Dr Caroline Harris PhD, CChem, FRSC

Practice Director and Principal Scientist, Exponent International Ltd.

# **Professor Gary Hutchison**

Dean of Applied Sciences at Edinburgh Napier University, with responsibility for Life Sciences, Social Sciences, Psychology, Teacher Education and Sports Exercise and Health Sciences.

#### Dr Sarah Judge BSc, PhD

Lecturer in Pharmacology in the School of Biomedical, Nutritional and Sport Sciences at Newcastle University.

#### **Dr Gunter Kuhnle**

Professor of Nutrition and Food Science.

#### **Dr David Lovell**

Emeritus Reader in Medical Statistics at St George's Medical School, University of London.

#### **Dr Mac Provan**

Director of Regulatory Science Ltd.

#### **Ms Juliet Rix**

Lay Member.

#### **Dr Michael Routledge**

Associate Professor of Environmental Toxicology in the School of Medicine at Leeds.

#### **Dr Cheryl Scudamore**

RCVS Specialist in Veterinary Pathology (laboratory animals) working as independent consultant in experimental and toxicological pathology.

#### **Dr Natalie Thatcher**

Mondelez International.

#### **Professor Mireille Toledano**

Chair in Perinatal and Paediatric Environmental Epidemiology, Faculty of Medicine, School of Public Health, Imperial College London.

#### Professor Faith M Williams MA PhD hon FBTS (until March 2021).

Emeritus Professor of Toxicology, Medical Toxicology Centre and Institute of Cellular Medicine, Newcastle University.

#### **Professor Philippe Wilson**

Professor of Animal Science and Bioinformatics, Nottingham Trent University, and Head of Conservation at the Rare Breeds Survival Trust.

#### **Professor Matthew Wright BSc, PhD**

Professor of Toxicology, Institute of Cellular Medicine, Newcastle University.

#### **Professor Maged Younes**

Independent expert on toxicology and biochemical pharmacology.

#### **Professor Thorhallur I. Halldorsson (from April 2021).**

Professor at the Faculty of Food Science and Nutrition at the University of Iceland.

#### Dr Simon Wilkinson (from April 2021).

Senior Lecturer in Pharmacology in the School of Biomedical, Nutritional and Sports Sciences at Newcastle University.

#### **Professor Shirley Price (from April 2021).**

Emerita Professor of Toxicology at the University of Surrey.

# **Secretariat**

Ms Catherine Mulholland BSc (Hons), ERT Scientific Secretary

Ms Britta Gadeberg BSc (Hons) MSc Scientific Secretary - PHE

Dr David Gott BSc (Hons) PhD

Dr Alexander Cooper BSc (Hons) MSc PhD

**Dr Barbara Doerr** BSc (Hons) MSc PhD

Dr Douglas Hedley BSc (Hons) MSc PhD

Ms Frances Hill BSc (Hons) MSc (until May 2021)

Ms Jocelyn Frimpong Manso BSc (Hons) MSc

Ms Cleanncy Hoppie BSc (Hons) MSc

Mr Barry Maycock BSc (Hons) MSc

Dr Olivia Osborne BSc (Hons) (Exon) PhD

Ms Claire Potter BSc (Hons) MSc ERT

Dr Joseph Shavila BSc (Hons) MSc PhD

Ms Chloe Thomas BSc (Hons) (until April 2021)

Ms Sabrina Thomas BSc (Hons) MSc

Ms Chara Tsoulli BSc (Hons) MSc Ms

Frederique Uy BSc (Hons) MSc

Miss Sophy Wells

**Dr Gaetana Spedalieri** (from September 2021)

Mr Thomas Hornsby BSc (Hons) MSc (from July 2021)

Mr Lawrence Finn BSc (Hons) MSc (from October 2021)

Ms Gail Drummond BSc (Hons) MSc, LLB, PG Dip (law) (from June 2021)

**Dr Emily Hudson** BSc (Hons) Mres (from November 2021)

**Dr David Kovacic** (from October 2021)