Committee on Toxicity of Chemicals in Food, Consumer, Products and the Environment Draft Annual Report 2024

2024 Membership of the Committee on Toxicity of Chemicals in Food, Consumer Products and the Environment

In this guide

In this guide

- 1. COT Evaluations 2024
- 2. <u>COT Procedures 2024</u>
- 3. Ongoing Work 2024
- 4. <u>Other Committee Activities: Joint Expert Groups, Presentations and</u> <u>Workshop 2024</u>
- 5. Joint Expert Groups 2024
- 6. Working Groups 2024
- 7. <u>2024 Membership of the Committee on Toxicity of Chemicals in Food,</u> <u>Consumer Products and the Environment</u>

This is a paper for discussion. This does not represent the views of the Committee and should not be cited.

Chair

Professor Alan Boobis OBE, PhD, FBTS, FBPhS

Emeritus Professor of Toxicology in the Faculty of Medicine at Imperial College London.

Members

Dr Phil Botham BSc, PhD (Up until May 2024)

Principal Science Advisor at Syngenta (part time).

Ms Jane Case (Up until May 2024)

Lay Member. Trowers & Hamlins LLP

Dr Stella Cochrane BSc PhD

Science Leader for Allergy and Immunology in Unilever's Safety and Environmental Assurance Centre.

Dr James Coulson BSc MBBCh Dip Med Tox Dip Therapeutics LLM MD FRCP FRCPE ERT

Clinical Reader at Cardiff University, Honorary Professor in Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology, Cardiff Metropolitan University, Honorary Consultant Physician, Clinical Pharmacologist and Toxicologist, Cardiff & Vale University Health Board.

Dr Silvia Gratz

Senior Research Fellow at the Rowett Institute, University of Aberdeen.

Professor Thorhallur I. Halldorsson

Professor at the Faculty of Food Science and Nutrition at the University of Iceland.

Professor Gary Hutchison

Professor of Toxicology and Dean of Applied Sciences at Edinburgh Napier University.

Dr Sarah Judge BSc, PhD (Up until May 2024)

Lecturer in Pharmacology in the School of Biomedical, Nutritional and Sport Sciences at Newcastle University.

Professor Gunter Kuhnle

Professor of Nutrition and Food Science, University of Reading.

Dr David Lovell

Emeritus Reader in Medical Statistics at St George's Medical School, University of London.

Professor Shirley Price

Emerita Professor of Toxicology at the University of Surrey.

Dr Mac Provan

Director of Regulatory Science Ltd.

Ms Juliet Rix (Up until May 2024)

Lay Member.

Dr Michael Routledge

Associate Professor of Medical Education at University of Leicester.

Dr Cheryl Scudamore

RCVS Specialist in Veterinary Pathology (laboratory animals) working as independent consultant in experimental and toxicological pathology.

Dr Natalie Thatcher

Mondelēz International.

Professor Mireille Toledano

Chair in Perinatal and Paediatric Environmental Epidemiology, Faculty of Medicine, School of Public Health, Imperial College London.

Dr Simon Wilkinson

Senior Lecturer in Pharmacology in the School of Biomedical, Nutritional and Sports Sciences at Newcastle University.

Professor Philippe Wilson

Professor of Animal Science and Bioinformatics, Nottingham Trent University, and Head of Conservation at the Rare Breeds Survival Trust.

Professor Matthew Wright BSc, PhD (Up until May 2024)

Professor of Toxicology, Institute of Cellular Medicine, Newcastle University.

Professor Maged Younes

Independent expert on toxicology and biochemical pharmacology.

Professor Peter Barlow

Chair of Immunology & Infection, and Head of the Centre for Biomedicine & Global Health within the School of Applied Sciences at Edinburgh Napier University.

Dr Steven Enoch

Reader in Computational Toxicology, Liverpool John Moores University.

Dr Chris Morris (from March 2024 onwards)

Senior Lecturer at Newcastle University

Dr Meera Cush (from March 2024 onwards)

Senior Managing Consultant in Regulatory Toxicology at Ramboll UK Limited

Mr Gordon Burton (from March 2024 onwards)

Public Interest Representative (Lay Member)

Mr Nick Richardson (from March 2024 onwards)

Public Interest Representative (Lay Member) Defence Science and Technology Laboratory (Dstl)

Dr Alison Yeates (from March 2024 onwards)

Lecturer in Biomedical Science within the School of Biomedical Sciences at Ulster University.

Dr Andreas Kolb (from March 2024 onwards)

Senior Research Fellow

Secretariat

Ms Catherine Mulholland BSc (Hons), ERT - Scientific Secretary

Ms Britta Gadeberg BSc (Hons) MSc ERT Scientific Secretary - UK HSA

Dr David Gott BSc (Hons) PhD (until May 2024)

Dr Alexander Cooper BSc (Hons) MSc PhD

Dr Barbara Doerr BSc (Hons) MSc PhD

Ms Jocelyn Frimpong Manso BSc (Hons) MSc

Ms Cleanncy Hoppie BSc (Hons) MSc (until October 2024)

Mr Barry Maycock BSc (Hons) MSc

Dr Olivia Osborne BSc (Hons) (Exon) PhD ERT MIFST

Ms Claire Potter BSc (Hons) MSc ERT

Dr Joseph Shavila BSc (Hons) MSc PhD

Ms Sabrina Thomas BSc (Hons) MSc

Ms Chara Tsoulli BSc (Hons) MSc Ms

Ms Frederique Uy BSc (Hons) MSc

Miss Sophy Orphanos

Dr Gaetana Spedalieri

Mr Thomas Hornsby BSc (Hons) MSc

Ms Gail Drummond BSc (Hons) MSc, LLB, PG Dip (law)

Dr Emily Hudson BSc (Hons) Mres

Dr Rachel Kerr BSc PhD

Ms Polly Bevan BSc MSc

Mr James Metcalfe BSc

Ms Alba Ureña Rusillo BSc MSc

Sub-groups active in 2024

Sub-groups active in 2024	Current COT Members serving
Joint SACN-COT Working Group on plant- based drinks.	Professor Alan Boobis
	Professor Gunter Kuhnle

Joint COT- ACNFP Working Group on Cannabidiol (CBD)	Professor Alan Boobis
	Dr Stella Cochrane
	Dr James Coulson
	Professor Gary Hutchison
	Professor Gunter Kuhnle
	Professor Shirley Price
	Dr Mac Provan
	Dr Simon Wilkinson
PFAS Working Group	Professor Shirley Price (Chair)
	Dr Phil Botham
	Dr James Coulson
	Dr Steve Enoch
	Professor Thorhallur Ingi Halldórsson
	Professor Gunter Kuhnle
	Professor Matthew Wright
	Dr Peter Barlow (ad hoc)
	Dr Stella Cochrane (ad hoc)
	Professor Gary Hutchison (ad hoc)
	Dr Sarah Judge (ad hoc)
Titanium Dioxide Working Group	Dr Peter Barlow Dr Phil Botham
	Professor Gary Hutchison Dr David Lovell
	Dr Cheryl Scudamore