2023 Membership of the Committee on Toxicity of Chemicals in Food, Consumer Products and the Environment

In this guide

In this guide

- 1. About the Committees 2023
- 2. COT Preface 2023
- 3. COT evaluations 2023
- 4. COT Assurance 2023
- 5. Committee Procedures 2023
- 6. Ongoing Work COT 2023
- Other Committee Activities: Joint Expert Groups, Presentations and Workshop -2023
- 8. 2023 Membership of the Committee on Toxicity of Chemicals in Food, Consumer Products and the Environment
- 9. Declaration of COT members' interests during the period of this report -2023
- 10. Sub-groups active in 2023
- 11. <u>Committee on Mutagenicity of chemicals in Food, Consumer Products and</u> the Environment Annual Report 2023
- 12. Ongoing work COM 2023
- 13. Discussion Items -2023
- 14. 2023 Membership of the Committee on Mutagenicity of Chemicals in Food,
 Consumer Products and the Environment
- 15. Declaration of COM members' interests during the period of this report -2023
- 16. <u>Committee on Carcinogenicity of Chemicals in Food, Consumer Products and</u> the Environment Annual Report 2023
- 17. COC Ongoing Topics 2023
- 18. COC Workshop 2023
- 19. Joint session Horizon scanning

- 20. COC input to COT work
- 21. 2023 Membership of the Committee on Carcinogenicity of Chemicals in Food, Consumer Products and the Environment
- 22. Declaration of COC members' interests during the period of this report -2023
- 23. Annex 1 2023 Terms of Reference
- 24. Annex 2 2023 Code of Conduct for members of the COC/COM/COT
- 25. Annex 3 2023 Openness
- 26. <u>Annex 4 2023 Good Practice Agreement for Scientific Advisory</u>
 <u>Committees</u>
- 27. Annex 5 2023 Glossary of Terms
- 28. Annex 6 2023 Previous Publications

Chair

Professor Alan Boobis OBE, PhD, FBTS, FBPhS

Emeritus Professor of Toxicology in the Faculty of Medicine at Imperial College London.

Members

Dr Phil Botham BSc, PhD

Principal Science Advisor at Syngenta (part time).

Ms Jane Case

Lay Member. Trowers & Hamlins LLP.

Dr Stella Cochrane BSc PhD

Science Leader for Allergy and Immunology in Unilever's Safety and Environmental Assurance Centre.

Dr James Coulson BSc MBBCh Dip Med Tox Dip Therapeutics LLM MD FRCP FRCPE ERT

Clinical Reader at Cardiff University, Honorary Professor in Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology, Cardiff Metropolitan University, Honorary Consultant Physician, Clinical Pharmacologist and Toxicologist, Cardiff & Vale University Health Board.

Dr Silvia Gratz

Senior Research Fellow at the Rowett Institute, University of Aberdeen.

Professor Thorhallur I. Halldorsson

Professor at the Faculty of Food Science and Nutrition at the University of Iceland.

Professor Gary Hutchison

Professor of Toxicology and Dean of Applied Sciences at Edinburgh Napier University.

Dr Sarah Judge BSc, PhD.

Lecturer in Pharmacology in the School of Biomedical, Nutritional and Sport Sciences at Newcastle University.

Professor Gunter Kuhnle

Professor of Nutrition and Food Science, University of Reading.

Dr David Lovell

Emeritus Reader in Medical Statistics at St George's Medical School, University of London.

Professor Shirley Price

Emerita Professor of Toxicology at the University of Surrey.

Dr Mac Provan

Director of Regulatory Science Ltd.

Ms Juliet Rix

Lay Member.

Dr Michael Routledge

Associate Professor of Medical Education at University of Leicester.

Dr Cheryl Scudamore

RCVS Specialist in Veterinary Pathology (laboratory animals) working as independent consultant in experimental and toxicological pathology.

Dr Natalie Thatcher

Mondelēz International.

Professor Mireille Toledano

Chair in Perinatal and Paediatric Environmental Epidemiology, Faculty of Medicine, School of Public Health, Imperial College London.

Dr Simon Wilkinson

Senior Lecturer in Pharmacology in the School of Biomedical, Nutritional and Sports Sciences at Newcastle University.

Professor Philippe Wilson

Professor of Animal Science and Bioinformatics, Nottingham Trent University, and Head of Conservation at the Rare Breeds Survival Trust.

Professor Matthew Wright BSc, PhD

Professor of Toxicology, Institute of Cellular Medicine, Newcastle University.

Professor Maged Younes

Independent expert on toxicology and biochemical pharmacology.

Professor Peter Barlow

Chair of Immunology & Infection, and Head of the Centre for Biomedicine & Global Health within the School of Applied Sciences at Edinburgh Napier University.

Dr Steven Enoch

Reader in Computational Toxicology, Liverpool John Moores University.

Associate Members

An associate member of the Science Advisory Committees (SACs) is a membership designed to allow early or mid-career researchers to become involved in the work of the FSA SACs. Creating this role allows the FSA to engage with a more diverse range of individuals, as well as encouraging interest in future SAC and FSA work.

Professor Jeanette Rotchell

University of Lincoln.

Dr Samantha Donnellan

Lecturer of Biomedical Sciences at Edinburgh Napier University.

Ms Eimear O'Rourke

Queens University Belfast.

Dr Ben Amies-Cull

Public health researcher at the University of Oxford.

Dr Charlotte Mills

Hugh Sinclair Lecturer in Nutritional Sciences within the Department of Food and Nutritional Sciences at University of Reading.

Dr Tarek Abdelghany

Lecturer of Pharmacology and Physiology at the Institute of Education in Healthcare and Medical Sciences, School of Medicine, Medical Sciences and Nutrition, the University of Aberdeen.

Co-opted Members

Dr Caroline Harris

Corporate vice president, Principal scientist and the Co-Director of the Centre for Chemical Regulation and Food Safety at Exponent International Ltd. Dr Harris was co-opted after her term on the committee expired on the 1st of March 2022.

Professor Paul Haggarty

Deputy Director, Rowett Institute of Nutrition and Health, University of Aberdeen. Prof Haggarty is a Co-opted member from the Scientific Advisory Committee on Nutrition (SACN).

Secretariat

Ms Catherine Mulholland BSc (Hons), ERT Scientific Secretary

Ms Britta Gadeberg BSc (Hons) MSc ERT Scientific Secretary - UK HSA

Dr David Gott BSc (Hons) PhD

Dr Alexander Cooper BSc (Hons) MSc PhD

Dr Barbara Doerr BSc (Hons) MSc PhD

Ms Jocelyn Frimpong Manso BSc (Hons) MSc

Ms Cleanncy Hoppie BSc (Hons) MSc

Mr Barry Maycock BSc (Hons) MSc

Dr Olivia Osborne BSc (Hons) (Exon) PhD ERT MIFST

Ms Claire Potter BSc (Hons) MSc ERT

Dr Joseph Shavila BSc (Hons) MSc PhD

Ms Sabrina Thomas BSc (Hons) MSc

Ms Chara Tsoulli BSc (Hons) MSc Ms

Ms Frederique Uy BSc (Hons) MSc

Miss Sophy Wells

Dr Gaetana Spedalieri

Mr Thomas Hornsby BSc (Hons) MSc

Ms Gail Drummond BSc (Hons) MSc, LLB, PG Dip (law)

Dr Emily Hudson BSc (Hons) Mres

Dr David Kovacic